North America Mountains

North America Mountains

Rocky Mountains

The high mountains of the Rocky Mountains are the main mountain range of the North American Cordilleras. The Rocky Mountains are a young fold mountains with many post-volcanic phenomena. Many national parks serve to protect and preserve the great mountains.

The Rocky Mountains run through the west of North America to the north-south (Fig. 1). Like the Alps, the Rocky Mountains are divided into numerous individual chains. Between the mountain ranges there are often very impressive high plateaus with lakes.

The high mountains extend approximately 4,500 km from Alaska in the north via Canada to the south of the USA. While reaching north to the Pacific coast, its central part is more than 1000 km from the coast to the interior of the continent.
Nevertheless, the “Rockys”, as they are called in the USA, form the main watershed between the Atlantic and the Pacific. The numerous rivers in the Rocky Mountains are often dammed up several times. The dams serve to generate energy and irrigate the dry, e.g. T. but fertile regions near the mountain flanks.

The grandiose mountain backdrop rises steeply from the east out of the Great Plains.
The highest mountain section with peaks over 4,000 m is in the states of Wyoming and Colorado in the mid-western United States. Here is the highest point, Mount Elbert (4,399 m), about 200 km south-west of Denver (Colorado).

To the west, the Rocky Mountains merge into the inner-montane basins and plateaus or highlands that lie between them and the mountain ranges of the Cordilleras that run closer to the Pacific.
In the United States it is the Great Basin, the Colorado Plateau and the Columbia plateau, in Canada the Fraser and Yukon Plateaus.

From a geological point of view, the Rocky Mountains are a young fold mountain formed in the Tertiary. The formation of the mountains was accompanied by violent volcanism. Persistent after-effects such as geysers, hot lakes, mud pools and sulfur fumes rising from crevices bear witness to this to this day. The most well known examples of this are the more than 3000 hot springs and geysers in Yellowstone National Park.

The Canadian, coastal part of the Rocky Mountains is densely forested.
However, since precipitation decreases towards the south, but temperatures rise, this picture gradually changes in the rocky mountains of the USA. The forest is getting lighter. In the very south, the mountains sometimes only have a steppe and desert character.

In addition to rich deposits of mineral resources, including coal, oil, natural gas, iron, copper, uranium, gold, steel refiners, tourism is an important economic factor. This is due to the special wealth of the mountains in the charming mountain forms and natural beauty. Several regions have been declared national parks to protect them.

North America

The largest country in North America by population is the United States. With over 331 million inhabitants, the United States is the most populous country on the continent. Geographically, Canada is the largest country in North America, covering an area of approximately 9.98 million square kilometers. See countries in North America.

Antigua and Barbuda
Costa Rica
Dominican Republic
El Salvador
Saint Kitts & Nevis
Saint Lucia
St. Vincent & the Grenadines
Trinidad & Tobago

Central America

Central America is the smallest of the three parts that make up the great continent called America (the second largest in the world). Central America is made up of two parts. One of them, known as continental Central America, is a narrow strip of land that connects North America to South America. The other part of Central America consists of the islands of the Caribbean Sea, called the Antilles, in addition to the archipelago of the Bahamas and the islands of Turks and Caicos.

Continental Central America is made up of seven countries: Belize, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama.

The Antilles region is made up of the Greater Antilles and the Lesser Antilles. These countries are located in the Greater Antilles: Cuba, Jamaica, Haiti and the Dominican Republic, in addition to Puerto Rico, which is a territory controlled by the United States. South of Cuba are the small Cayman Islands, controlled by the United Kingdom. The Lesser Antilles are smaller islands that make up several countries: Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Granada, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago. In the Lesser Antilles there are also several foreign possessions: Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, Santo Eustáquio and the southern part of the island of São Martinho, which belong to the Netherlands; Guadeloupe and Martinique, which belong to France; Anguilla, British Virgin Islands and Montserrat, which belong to the United Kingdom; and the US Virgin Islands, which belong to the United States. Other small colonial territories, formed by smaller islands, are subordinate to these administrative units.

Outside the Caribbean, already in the Atlantic Ocean, are the Bahamas, an independent country, and Turks and Caicos, islands that belong to the United Kingdom.

Central American Countries and their Capitals – Location, Map

Central America is a subdivision of the American continent. The region comprises 20 countries and 16 overseas territories. Check out the territories and capitals.

The Central America is a subcontinent bordered on the north by the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico, and to the south by Colombia. In the west it is bathed by the Pacific Ocean and in the east by the Atlantic Ocean.

The region is located on the Caribbean tectonic plate and comprises 20 countries, out of a total of 35 that are part of the American continent, and 16 overseas or island territories, which are domains of other nations.

Check out the 20 Central American countries and their capitals:

  • Belize – Belmopan
  • Costa Rica – San Jose
  • El Salvador – San Salvador
  • Guatemala – Guatemala City
  • Honduras – Tegucigalpa
  • Nicaragua – Managua
  • Panama – Panama City
  • Antigua and Barbuda – Saint John’s
  • Bahamas – Nassau
  • Barbados – Bridgetown
  • Cuba – Havana
  • Dominica – Roseau
  • Dominican Republic – São Domingos
  • Grenada – Saint George’s
  • Haiti – Port-au-Prince
  • Jamaica – Kingston
  • Saint Lucia – Castries
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis – Basseterre
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines – Kingstown
  • Trinidad and Tobago – Port of Spain

North America Mountains